What’s New Pussycat?

What's New Pussycat?

What’s New Pussycat? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At the end of the procedure I could hear my surgeons talking in low tones at the side of the room.  I heard the doctor who had performed the angiogram saying “It picked up both arteries that supply the optic nerve.  There was no way in hell I was going to touch it”

High on the anesthesia I was just sassy enough to call them over and ask for a post op report.  The doctor informed me that there had been no embolization of the tumor because he did not know what would happen if he cut off the blood vessels which supplied my optic nerves.  He had been afraid to touch them, worried that cutting off the blood supply could have left me blind.  He informed me that there would still be a risk of extensive bleeding tomorrow during my surgery with Dr. Moore but not to worry, I had one of the best surgeons in the country on my team.  At this news I began to cry and also called the doctor a word that can both describe a feline animal and is slang for female genitalia.

Looking back now that word was probably a touch too harsh. I blame the meds.

2 thoughts on “What’s New Pussycat?

  1. Girl,
    i was talking to my roommate who has been an editor for years and she recommended just faxing your story to the npr station; they could read it on there or publish on the website. It’s a thought anyways and not a bad one…If you want it to be “on air” that is 🙂 I await the next installment, you gifted gifted writer you!

  2. Pingback: What’s New Pussycat? | The Chronicles of Mayo

Leave a Reply

